No School! By Anna

No School Challenge

There was no school for five days in a row! It was cool to have the weekend go a little longer but it was not all fun. My power was out because of the storm for four of those days we had off and it was terrible. Since there was no power, I had no idea what was going on in the in the world. There could be war and we would not even know it. It was also hard even to sleep. There was no heat so my whole family had to sleep in my living room, with an air mattresses and only a space heater to heat us.

As if that wasn’t bad enough. my dog kept stepping on us, rubbing his snot on us and getting up. We also didn’t have any water in our house so we couldn’t brush our teeth or take a shower. I felt pretty gross. On the second day we finally got to take showers at Vassar so we were clean. There was also an up side to the storm. My family got to spent a lot of time together instead of always getting home and going on electronics. Because there was no light, we got to use candles so that we could see. The candles looked really beautiful.

There was also Halloween. I dressed as Sally from a movie called, Nightmare Before Christmas. It was really weird on Halloween because there was snow and fallen tree limbs all over. It was also weird because we didn’t get to go to as many houses as usual. We usually stay up really late going to many different houses but we couldn’t because a lot of people didn’t have power. I thought that the days off were good but they were also bad. I liked it and kind of hope it will happen again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *