The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind – By Zoë

I like several things about The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind, by William Kamkwamba. One is that it has a lot of details and description. It also tells some stories that William’s father told him It also  told a lot about the life that William lived  (his house, people, history, superstitions, his family or other important people from the country etc.). I was easily able to imagine the pictures of what events happened and what things looked like.

An important thing was that was very useful in the book was that there was great vocabulary of African terms and a short definition of what they meant.The book also told about William’s problems in the story and how he or his parents fixed them. It really helps me understand what they meant more easily. I really like this book so far and I hope you like it too!

Zoë

7 thoughts on “The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind – By Zoë

  1. Ooh, I wish I’d had this book to read with my students when I was teaching. From your description, I think my 6th graders would have liked it.

  2. When I was in sixth grade, schools did not have children read books from other cultures. Fortunately, I had a big sister, your mother, who filled in that gap, giving your Aunt Marianne and me books that told tales from around the world. Indeed, Alicia fostered my love of reading more than anyone else in my life. I still love the books she gave us, from the Laura Ingalls Wilder series to The Secret Garden to The Island of the Blue Dolphins. Equally important, your mother modeled what it meant to be a reader, always reading novels and lining the shelves of our house with books she had read. I see that you are developing an appreciation for good books as well. The Kamkwamba book sounds interesting. Perhaps in your next post, you can share examples of some of the details you admired or the pictures the author helped create in your mind due to the words he chose?

    Looking forward to the next post!

  3. You write in a way that makes me want to read this book. I will go look for a copy at once. Thank you for your inspiration.
    Anna

  4. Wow, what a cool project this is. Keep on writing here, never stop. This helps for good discipline 😉

  5. To this day, my favorite books are those your Mom gave Theresa and me – The Secret Garden and the Island of the Blue Dolphins. In fact, I took the Island of the Blue Dolphins off the book shelf and read it again just two weeks or so ago. I still enjoy it and it sounds as though I would like the Boy Who Harnessed the Wind as well, based on your description. I too like books set in other places in the world. Perhaps I will order it from my local library…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *