CHALLENGE #9 – by Cam

CHALLENGE #9

REAL MADRID

BY CAM BROWN

Real Madrid is my favorite soccer team in the world. I was introduced to Real Madrid when my dad’s exchange student from Spain came to visit us in New York City for lunch. The exchange students name is Juan and he has kept in touch with my dad all those years. Juan is from Madrid, Spain and his favorite team is Real Madrid as well. He showed me pictures of Real Madrid and everything. I, at 5 years old, was instantly hooked. I would like to
share my love for Real Madrid with you.

Real Madrid Current Logo

 

Real Madrid was founded March 6, 1902 by two Catalan brothers named Juan and Carlo Padros, and is based in Madrid, Spain, that was 109 years ago. According to records, Real Madrid has won the most titles and championships in sports history. They have won 31( and counting) La Liga ( Real Madrid’s league) titles, 18 Copa del Rays ( annual tournament for all Spanish teams), 8 Spanish Super Cups ( a match between the winners of La Liga and Copa del Ray), 9 UEFA Champions league titles ( An annual tournament raised by UEFA, UEFA is Union of European Football Associations ), 2UEFA Cups and 1 UEFA Super Cup.

 

. Front View Of Santiago Bernabeu                                                                                  Back View of Santiago Bernabeu

Real Madrid’s stadium is called Santiago Bernabeu. It can hold up to 85,454 rabid fans. It’s the fifth largest stadium in the world. Santiago Bernabeu has been Real Madrid’s stadium since 1947. The ancient stadium has hosted the 1982 World Cup Final plus many other huge soccer events. Like all sports teams there is a rivalry between two teams. It is classic and it is inevitable, every team has a rival. However, no rivalry in history compares to Real Madrid’s and FC Barcelona’s rivalry. Some claim that it is the oldest rivalry in sports. An author says that it is a reenactment of the Spanish Civil War. FC Barcelona also has a rich history of greatness. Every Real Madrid fan hates Barcelona and every Barcelona fan hates Real Madrid. I personally have been to Spain and have seen with my own eyes the majestic Santiago Bernabeu.
ALL PICTURES TAKEN AND EDITED BY CAM

5 thoughts on “CHALLENGE #9 – by Cam

  1. So if the stadium, can hold 85,454 rabid fans, how many rational fans can it hold? Why is the match between FC Barcelona and Real Madrid a reenactment of the Spanish Civil War?
    I love your pictures they are very interesting. I hope you get to go to the stadium in Barcelona some day soon. Did you like Barcelona as a city? You did a great job writing this blog, I found it very engaging. Thanks for including me in the people you asked to comment.
    See you soon
    Gopper (Peter)

  2. Thanks for your blog about the Madrid team, I now feel very informed! I especially like your photos and I hope you will post more on your future blogs. I have a question, if their stadium is “ancient” what do you call the Colosseum in Rome?

  3. Thank you Gopper,
    An author said in a book that he claimed that he thought that FC Barcelona and Real Madrid was LIKE a reenactment of the Spanish Civil War because it was very competitive and the matches were always dirty and sometimes there were fights on the field. I really liked Barcelona when I visited it in Spain but not as much as I liked Madrid.
    Love Cam

  4. Thank you for commenting Aunt Pat,
    I think that the Roman Colosseum would ‘ancient, ancient’ I just used ancient as a describing word.
    Love Cam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *