Grendel’s point of view from the story Beowulf by Alexander

GRENDEL

As a young boy I loved to play in the long wide open fields. I would run around there for hours every day enjoying myself. On my 300th birthday I was ready to become a full grown troll. I knew that I would have to take a 100 year slumber, but it was all worth it. So I left the fields to return to my home in an underwater cave. When I finally got home my mother Fredhead was waiting. She had made me a lovely blanket knitted with thousands of sunflowers blooming in a cool breeze. Fredhead also knitted my name Rickashay (as that was my name ) in big bold letters just at the end where my head would be. I jumped in bed and fell asleep.

IOO YEARS LATER

Finally, after a 100 years I awoke as a full grown troll. The first thing I thought of doing was to go out and see what had changed. After all it has been a whole century. For the next 3 days I went all over the land admiring the new world. Then I thought I would go to the fields that I loved so much as a kid. But when I got there, I thought I had taken a wrong turn. There were tiny houses and one, the biggest of them all made of stone. There were people everywhere and right where the fields used to be was this huge hollow hill made of stone. There was colored water in clear bottles and a table almost as long as I was tall. I couldn’t believe this I told myself. I must be dreaming..yeah that’s it, dreaming. I will come back tonight and this will all be gone.

THE FOLLOWING NIGHT

I had the weirdest dream. Now to return to the fields where I’m sure there is nothing but the fields. But when I got there I saw that what I thought as a dream had been true all along. The huge hollow hill made of stone. The colored water in clear bottles. A table almost as long as I was tall. But how,… why? Although, this time something was different. At first I thought that the hill had grown, but then I noticed that there was a sound that had not been there before. It was faint. As I moved closer to the hill the sound started to sound like laughter. Within  a few  more steps I was at the door and I was certain. There were men by the hundreds laughing. Laughing at me! Laughing at me because my favorite place in this land was destroyed. Laughing that I had still cared about this place in my past. They made me so mad that when they were all getting ready to go to bed I broke down the doors screaming. I picked up one of them and ate them whole. All of a sudden everyone was in panic. They all grabbed their swords and frantically waved them at me. But none of them could harm me. The next thing I knew half the men’s blood on the floor and their bodies traveling slowly down my intestines. I stood there watching the rest of men running away. As I left I told myself that I would return every night to eat and kill all who dare to laugh at the all mighty Rickashay.  Ever since then men called my mom the Hag and me Grendel for what reasons, I haven’t a clue.

For the next few years Grendel killed all who laughed at him. Until……………………………………..

SEVERAL YEARS LATER

 A few months back,  men stopped laughing at me, but I still walked over every night just to make sure. I also went out in the morning to get some more food for my mother Fredhead who does not like to leave the house in the underwater cave. As I walked over to the best grounds to hunt for wild boar I noticed something odd. Since I was 10 ft, tall I could see the nearby ocean. But today there was the largest floating rock I have ever seen. There were also at least 100 armed men on this floating rock. I also saw one man bigger than the rest in front of this group that met up with another man on a horse ( my favorite snack ). Then all  100 men followed the man on the horse up a familiar dirt road. Wait a minute, I suddenly remembered. This was the path that went directly to the stone hill. The stone hill that was placed on my favorite fields. I started to get angrier by the second. They’ve come to laugh at me. I know it, now more furious than the day that forsaken hill was put on the fields I hold so precisely in my memories. Well they’ll get it tonight. Every last filthily one of them, I said with drool and spit flying out of my mouth.

 

LATER THAT SAME DAY

For the past 2 hours I have been sitting outside of this stone hill. Listing to those men laughing at me.Waiting for them to go to bed. Since then, the sun has grown old and it has become as dark as the night could be. It has also grown terribly colder since the sun was no more for the night. It seemed like they would never stop laughing. So I decided to close my eyes. The next thing I knew, I have been asleep for at least 3 more hours and all was quiet.  I knew the sun would be upon the sky in only a matter of time. I got up and headed to the door. I pounded at the door only to find it has been locked. With a few more pounds on the door it broke into several pieces and fell upon  the ground. I picked up one man and ate him without a thought. All of a sudden there was a stirring as the rest started to wake up and grab their swords. As I reached for my next victim I remembered that this was the man that stood in front of all the others, the biggest. The next thing I knew I was in the most painful arm lock that I have ever felt. It was my next victim refusing to let go. With one yank I failed to shake him off. With another fail I tried once more and this time my armed was ripped off my body. I yelled out the loudest scream I could. Then I ran away with half my arm’s missing, still with the aching pain in my shoulder. I refused to look at it with knowing that it was still bursting out Gallons of hot red gooey blood with every step I take. By the time I got to my home and fell into Fredhead’s hands I could barely keep my eyes open. The last thing I saw was Fredhead’s dark green eyes staring into mine. Then right then and there I died  in my mom’s arms.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *