Beowulf and Hrothgar in Modern Times – by Hannah

After receiving a Skype request from Hrothgar, Beowulf wondered what might be happening that his old friend is suddenly requesting him. He set up a Skype call for after dinner. When the time arrived, he opened his Mac and saw Hrothgar was on. After a few moments he received a video call. He accepted the call and sat up-right. The picture came into view it was evident that Hrothgar was older than the last time they saw one another.

After a moment of awe, Hrothgar got a serious look upon his face and spoke the words, “ I need your help!” Not a moment went by that Beowulf would pass up a challenge.

Without giving Hrothgar a chance to tell him what it was he needed help with, Beowulf said, “Yes! I’ll do it and bring my best shooters.”

Hrothgar looked surprised and joyful for a short moment, then said, “Although your offer is noble I must tell you what my problem is before you make the journey. ”

Beowulf looked surprised. Something ferocious had to be going on.”The bar in my hotel has been broken into late at night lately. ”

He continued,  ”Guests have been kidnapped and killed,” he said with fear in his eye… a fear that Beowulf had only seen once before. The fear he saw was the one he had seen in himself when his mother and father were taken into custody by the police, then killed. Being a noble man with a good heart he accepted the challenge. Hrothgar offered to pay for him and his men to fly first class to the hotel, but Beowulf refused and said, ” My men and I will fly on our private jet there as it will take less time.” With that they ended the call.

Hrothgar sat up all night hoping no one would be taken that night. meanwhile Beowulf was packing and e-mailing his “dream team”. When he finished that, he got the best night’s sleep he ever had. Back at The Hrothgar Hotel, three men and two woman had been talking. When Hrothgar heard the news he hoped the people surrounding him didn’t understand the impact of the occurrence. He was having a heart attack. By the time Beowulf landed, he had five missed Skype calls, all from Hrothgar. Wondering if something was wrong, he called back. No answer he decided to go to the hotel and see what the problem was. When he arrived Hrothgar was just becoming conscious again. When the two saw one another there was a tear in their eyes for it had been so long since their last meeting.  Then Hrothgar’s wife, Wealtheow, broke the silence not knowing who Beowulf  was and what he was doing there she said with an attitude, “ Excuse me, this is for family and friends. You must have the wrong room number.”

” I don’t believe how you’ve grown,” said Hrothgar. “

“And you have changed quite a bit I’d say,” said Beowulf in a soft tone.

Obviously confused Wealtheow said,  “Hon, would you like to tell me who this might be?”

With another glance at Beowulf, Hrothgar said, “An old friend. An old friend.” With that Beowulf introduced himself and began catching up with Hrothgar. Then Beowulf and his men slept there that night. There was not a kidnapping nor a sound. At breakfast Beowulf asked Hrothgar if any of the bodies were found.

“You know, thinking about it, they have just been missing.” said Hrothgar.

“Then how do you know that they were kidnapped and killed?”

Thinking for a moment Hrothgar said, “The text says so.”

Beowulf asked to see the text. When he did he recognized, the number but from where? “Isn’t that the number you gave me if  I ever needed to get in touch with you?”

Hrothgar thought then said “Well that can’t be,” he said as Sintha slipped out the door, ”That’s Sintha’s number.”

2 thoughts on “Beowulf and Hrothgar in Modern Times – by Hannah

  1. I loved your post Hannah! I liked how you explained how it happened. When I was just flipping through your storys I came across yours and was amazed by how GREAT your writing was! Keep up the good work!! Hope to communicate with you next time! See yea! This was Paige from Lethbridge Alberta Ecole Snt. Mary School Grade 6 student!

  2. Hey Paige,
    Thanks for you nice comments and reading my posts!! I love working with you(and Rachel and Dylan)! I can’t wait to continue reading and having fun with the 3 of you! Thanks again for reading my post!
    You friend,
    Hannah 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *