My dreams for 2013 – Ali

My dreams as a student in 2013


My dream for middle school in 2013 is to have no homework. When kids get home, they should be able to play outside and to enjoy their after school activities. Sometimes, that is hard to do when you feel pulled back by homework.

Homework gets people stressed out. When I’m at home, and I just got back from dance, and I look at the time, it’s already very late. To know that I have to do homework at such a late hour, makes me feel knots in my stomach. Knowing that after homework, dance, dinner, and a shower, it will be about 9:45! Then I don’t go to sleep until about 10:15! That’s too late!

When I get home from school, I want some time to relax. Sometimes I find that hard to do when I know that there’s a bunch of homework waiting for me to do in my backpack.

Think about this, one sheet of homework for each subject in school. Due tomorrow. Science, Spanish, Humanities, Math and Health. Even if it’s only one sheet per class, that adds up to 5 sheets of homework. Depending on the person, that could take a long time to do.

Plus, when you are doing your homework and you can’t figure out an answer…what do you do? You can’t just ask a teacher, because, most likely your teacher isn’t living with you. You could try to get help from a family member…but what if they don’t know? That’s a very stressful feeling to have…at least for me.

I’m not just talking about me though. I know that most of my friends aren’t fans of homework either. I remember, I was talking to my friend online and I said, “I’m bored.”
She replied, “I can never be bored because I have too much homework.”

I don’t think that it’s okay to put kids under this much pressure. A solution? I’m not saying that there should be absolutely no homework, but if there needs to be…maybe push the due dates back or spread it out over time.

My world wide dream
My world wide dream is to have schools be more connected with each other. I think it’s really cool that we get to Skype call with other schools and blog, but I think we can go further.

Wouldn’t it be interesting to do a project with a school that is all the way across the world? Or, maybe try to spend a day in the life of someone from a different school.

If we stay connected, we can go as far as we want.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *