Thanksgiving by Lexi

Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is full of surprises

New people

New food

New adventures

But the truth of  it is

the holiday season

is just a way to see the people

You want to see

and taste the food

you want to taste

Taste

The leftover taste

Of mashed potato in my mouth

Can start to taste like toxic waste

Toxic waste ain’t so good

When it’s in mashed potato form

 

Miss

 

I’m missing my step cousins a lot

I wish they would come running back

I guess I thought

Thanksgiving wouldn’t feel as short as snack

 

Chew

 

The gum in my mouth

Is starting to taste pretty bad

Let me go spit it out

I’ll be a minute now

 

See

 

The kitchen still isn’t clean

Bins of turkey still all over the counter

And while my cat is acting like the queen

I sit and watch, she thinks she has power

 

Think

 

I miss New York City

And all the famous people I got to see

But next Thanksgiving will be pretty soon

And New York City will always be there

 

Stuffed

 

My Stomach is so full

Two courses of the same food

And a table of dessert

But it was so good

 

Feelings

Thanksgiving is full of surprises

New people

New food

New adventures

 

But the truth of  it is

the holiday season

is just a way to see the people

You want to see

and taste the food

you want to taste

 

So thats it…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *