Buddies – By Khalil

Here at PDS we have something called Buddy Mentor program. Basically, older kids get to work with the children in the lower school. We get to do activities and play with them. This year is my first year ever working with a buddy so I am excited.

First, my class had a meeting about the buddy program during humanities. After the meeting it was time to go to the Pre-Kindergarten-Kindergarten students’ classroom. When we got there the children were outside. Their classroom looked cute. When they came inside, we all sat in a circle and shared our name and favorite flavor of ice cream. It was very funny. Ater our sharing we started to play with the kids. My indexbuddy’s name was David and he has a big imagination. He wanted me to build a house out of blocks that he could “live” in it and after I was done he just knocked it over. After playing inside we went outside. Outside we did a lot including attacking Ibrahim a couple of times. We also bought some magic dust from Memphis and his buddy to destroy androids.

I think this whole buddy program is lots of fun and it helps the little kids feel more comfortable  around older kids. Even though it was tiring, I still had a great time and plus we get extra recess. I am looking forward to the next buddy day so I can work with David again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *