Summer By Quinn

This summer I had a lot of fun.  First, I went to Texas by myself (of course my cousins picked me up at the Dallas Fort Worth airport).  In Texas I watched a lot of movies, and ate Mexican food for six nights, and it was really good.  There were two kids named Ben and Natalie, five grown-ups named Angela, Ryan, Jeffrey, Julia, and Andrew, then there was one toddler named Penelope.  Penelope only behaved when I was around, and when I left she asked me if an airplane was as big as me.  Obviously I said no, and told her it was bigger than her house.  Jeffrey had a lot of medieval legos, and we played with them.  In the game you had an island, a king, and an army.  I had the biggest cavalry of 7 men (equivalent to 700) .  The men were equipped with swords, helmets, 4 lances, a crossbow, and a shield.  I also had three archers, and obviously took over the world (an equivalent to 300.  I also went to Six Flags.  Unfortunately it started raining when we got on the first ride, but we stayed anyway as it was just a drizzle.

My family and I went to Rhode Island for a week in July.  We were joined by two friends, and surprised by three others.  Unfortunately we went there to spread my grandmother’s ashes.  Even though it was very sad we still had a good time.

For Labor Day I went to my favorite Aunt’s house (her name was Theresa).  I had never been there before but I wish I did because it was fabulous . The best thing about the house was either the seventy degree pool or the separated sleeping cottage.

Before I could go to school, I had to have a chicken pox and a tetanus shot.  I used to have a terrible fear of needles.  Right when the nurse put in the tetanus shot, I was about to say Ow when she took it out, and did the next one.  Then I was told to have a blood test.  When I went to get it at Labcorp in Fishkill, I was told I had to be fasting.  Then I went to a Labcorp in Poughkeepsie.  On the door it said Beware Vampire on Duty – my mom is a phlebotomist so my dad took a picture.  As I was inside the lab the phlebotomist told me I needed nine vials.  She put the tourniquet on, and I closed my eyes.  As I felt the needle go in I asked, “Did you get the vein?”  Unfortunately she missed but got it the second time.  When she was done she asked, “Are you okay?” I said “yes”, and left.  Then the receptionist told me that I didn’t need to be fasting.  Unlucky me!   After that my dad and I went to a diner where I got Gluten Free french toast, and sausage.  For dessert I ordered delicious cheesecake. Now I am not afraid of needles.  I made my mom a Vampire on Duty sign.

At the end of the summer ,I learned that I had been soy free for nothing (3 ½ years running).  That was at a Thai restaurant thirty minutes from my house.

I had an absurdly absolutely fantastic summer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *