Week #7 All About Horses – By Annie

 

Cali Larah McElroy via Compfight

My Topic is about Horses! I love horses, I own four but you’ll learn about them in my presentation. For now my goal is to share most of what I know with you! There are many different colors of horses like, Dun, Chestnut, Dark Bay, Light Bay, Bay, Gray, Dapple grey and many different colors. Here are some fun facts:

  • they have four legs
  • they have 250 bones
  • they are over 350 different breeds
    • Arabians
    • Thoroughbreds
    • Welsh ponies
    • Shires
    • Clydesdales
    • Appaloosa
    • Mustangs
    • Exmoor ponies
    • American Quarter Horses
    • Shetland ponies
    • Miniature ponies
    • and many more

Horses run very early after they are born. A baby female horse is called a filly and a male baby horse is called a colt. Overall a baby horse is called a foal. A grownup female is called a mare. A male grownup horse called a stallion. Horses can sleep standing up and lying down. They like to roll in their pastures to keep cool. The Latin name for horse is “Equus caballus”. They are super loyal and don’t want anything to happen to their riders. They are prey and not predator, which means in the wild they get hunted versus hunting. click here to learn more.

I love all animals, but I especially love Horses ! I want to help horses that are being abused because that’s not right. One of the biggest problem with using horses in cities is carriage horses in cities. The horses are used to pull carriages to carry tourists in many cities.  They have to work many long hours. It’s bad for their feet and it’s very dangerous because the roads are too slippery for their horse shoes.

Thanks for learning with me!

 

 

One thought on “Week #7 All About Horses – By Annie

  1. Hello Annie,
    Very nice blog entry! I love that you love horses so much. I love horses too! I have some relatives that have horses, and some friends that do. I think people who don’t know a lot about horses could learn quite a bit from you entry. It was very detailed and accurate. You seem like a very good writer! I also enjoyed the slideshow below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *