My Holiday Post By Zoe

The Christmas season for my family starts when we get our tree. We all split up at the place where we buy the Christmas tree. We all run around for a bit trying to find a suitable tree for our house. When we think we’ve each found good ones, we decide as a family which tree is better. Then, we take the tree home and turn on the fireplace and watch Christmas movies (last year we watched Frosty the Snowman in French!) and set up the tree and decorate it. I usually take pictures during this time, but I put up a lot of ornaments too. This is my favorite part of the entire Christmas season.

On Christmas morning, I usually wake up at around 6:00. My parents don’t let my brother and I wake them up for Christmas until at least 7:00, so I wait around for an hour (which is absolute torture, believe me!) and the second the clock ticks 7:00 I run into my parents’ room and wake them up and drag them into the living room. First, we all look in our stockings. Last year, I got a mechanical cat in my stocking. I named it Samuel.

Next, I force my parents to open their presents, and soon enough, it is time for me and my brother to open our presents. About halfway through the present getting/giving process my Dad wanders around with a giant garbage bag for us to put our wrapping paper in. It’s all over pretty quickly, and the second it is all over, we pack our bags to go to either my grandparents in Saratoga’s house or my grandparents in Long Island’s house. We usually have fun using the presents we got for Christmas during the long, boring car ride. Christmas is always really fun in my family. I cannot wait for Christmas this year!

The Night Before Christmas

Robert S. Donovan via Compfight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *