My Holiday Post By Zsofi

Christmas At My House

My mom is an immigrant from the Czech Republic, and my dad is an immigrant from Hungary. Each of these places have different traditions for Christmas, and for some crazy reason my parents decided to celebrate them all. On December 6th, we celebrate Mikulas (the Czech and Hungarian Santa), who comes and fills your shoes and stockings with gifts. He was a Greek bishop, known as the protector of children. Then on Christmas Eve, I celebrate Jezisek. While writing this post, I just found out that apparently Jezisek is Baby Jesus, and he conjures up presents. Odd, I know. Last but not least, there is Santa. If you do not already know who Santa is, on Christmas morning he comes and gives you presents. Santa is pretty much an Anglicized version of St. Nick/the original Santa. It seems every country has its own version of St. Nick.  


Here is a link to a site where you can find more about different holiday traditions.

reindeer poodle Vicki DeLoach via Compfight  humbug worldoflard via CompfightDogs Fucking Hate Christmas TheGiantVermin via CompfightMerry Woofmas!!!Creative Commons License Joseph Vasquez via CompfightPokey waiting for Santa Prescott Pym via Compfight

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *