A trip to the Hospital by Charlie

While the rest of the kids in middle school were at Nature’s Classroom, I was in the hospital waiting for news of my grandma who had fainted at a funeral. Let me start at the beginning….It was 8:00 P.M. on a Sunday when the phone rang with alarming news. My grandmother had just fainted while at a funeral! My mom (Meme) quickly gathered my sister and I in the car with my other mom and we drove off to the Kingston Hospital. I was really nervous and SCARED! I didn’t know if my grandmother was even conscious. We finally arrived at the Kingston Hospital and my mom told my other mom to drop her off while my other mom parked the car. We parked close to the building and ran into the hospital.

Inside the hospital I spotted my cousin Kayla, her boy friend Jeremy, my aunt Betty and her husband Roy. My mom had gone inside the emergency room, so I didn’t expect to see her. My sister was about ready to pass out as well because it was around 8:40; the time when she is usually in bed. I saw my cousin Kayla cry and I felt like crying as well. Then I heard good news. My grandmother was conscious.

I really wanted to go see her, but I couldn’t because there was a limit of only one person in the emergency room at a time. My mom and my aunt Mary were in the emergency room, so it was over the limit. My mom came out of the emergency room with my aunt and told me that my grandmother was OK, but it looked like she might have to stay there another night; little did we know that it was going to more than that.

I really wanted to see my grandma so I convinced my mom and sister to come with me. When I saw my grandmother she looked really tired and stressed because she had come from a peaceful funeral and the next thing she knew she was in a hospital bed. She greeted my sister and I and said she would be OK. It was around 11:00 now and it was way past my sisters bedtime. My aunts and moms suggested that my grandma get some rest. But it was hard for her. I think that our chattering kept her awake.

My cousin Kayla and her boy friend stopped by a few times to check in on things. Then a nurse came in and confirmed that my grandma would indeed have to stay for another night…maybe even two! Afterword – Meme and I would have to stop by the hospital for two more days till my grandma was free to go home.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *