This Is Africa – by Sarah

Have you ever taken a trip overseas? When I was five, my family took a trip to Africa. We went to South Africa and Zimbabwe. First, I should explain why we were going to Africa. At the time (2008) Zimbabwe was  a very dangerous place. We went to visit family friends of ours. They were there because their dad Jim was working  to help put Zimbabwe in a better position. My dad is good friends with their dad. They were there for a year. I was and still am best friends with the daughter Muriel and my sister was really good friend with her older sister Sadie, although they have grown apart over the years. Their mom’s name is Amy and she is very close to my mom. We flew from New York City to London for a plane change. Then finally to Cape Town South Africa.

Jim picked us up from the airport. We got into the car. At the first stop light we stopped with a red light. When we stopped, a young child came to our car window. He asked for food or money. This is the only way those kids families can make money and if we gave them food that might be all they have to eat all day for them and their families. This happened at almost every stop light. That’s another thing about South Africa and Zimbabwe, most people just run right through the stop lights because you never know whether or not that light has been red for 10 seconds or 10 years.

 Picture by me.

When we got to Zimbabwe aour friend came to get us. They drove us to their house in Zimbabwe. The house had three gates. Those were all for protection of us and the house. So many amazing things and people  live in Africa. Maybe I will go back some time?

 

One thought on “This Is Africa – by Sarah

  1. Hi my name is Shannon. I am in Ms. Little’s class, your class commented on our blog a while ago.

    Did you give money or food to the little boy or girl?

    Your street looks different than the signs here in Canada.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *