My Holiday By Violet

During the holiday season, my family celebrates Hanukkah. My part of the family isn’t religious like the other part of our family, neither my sister or I went to hebrew school or are having Bat Mitzvahs. On the eight days, we light each candle on the menoura  night by night and give presents to each other. Traditionally, every night we’re supposed to say a prayer; instead we just say it the first night because we only know one of the prayers. We sometimes spin dreidels and play the game (even though we barely know how). Hanukkah is celebrating the rededication of the Holy Temple. We give each other chocolate coins called gelt, which now come in lots of flavors.

 

Plymouth Xmas 07Creative Commons License GabboT via Compfight

 

 

One thought on “My Holiday By Violet

  1. Dear Violet
    I really enjoyed reading about your holiday season Hanukkah and you really gave me good information about the festival. Do u play those games at night or in the day? What flavours did the chocolate coins come in before they made other flavours. I think this piece of text is really interesting and you should post more festivals you celebrate.

    From Livia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *