My Passion~ Piano

Since this week the topic for  quadblogging is what is your passion , I chose mine as playing piano. I absolutely love piano. I take private lessons (outside of school) every Thursday at Paul Effman from 4:30 to 5:00. The reason why I chose to start taking piano lessons is because I didn’t play any instruments. Also because my mom had taken piano lessons when she was a kid , but now she has forgotent how to play. This is my second year playing piano.

 

I really love to play piano, my parents say it’s a natural talent that sort of just came to me and it was just really easy for me to play. I have recital at the end of February each year. This year, my piano teacher, Lauren said she thinks I’m ready to participate in NYSSMA which stands for New York state school music association. NYSSMA is basically held at a school and you go into one of the classrooms and perform a piece of music, 3  scales and you have to sight read (but they give you that), for a judge. There are 3 levels with 1 being  beginner and 3 being advanced. Since this is my first year doing NYSSMA, Lauren  thinks I should go as a level one. You can play any instrument you want. (The reason why I knew this was because my friend has done it for a while and she told me).


I have learned many different songs on the piano, I know how to play Ode to Joy , a Waltz and many other songs. My piano teacher is a really good teacher in my opinion and I really think she teaches me a lot. I have a keyboard right now at my house which I use to practice , but we are thinking about getting a piano! Which I’m very excited about. I don’t consider actually becoming a piano player, but to just have it as a hobby. Anyway, I think piano will be something that will always stick to me and be my passion and I hope to learn more and more and really become a skilled pianist.

 

Here is a link for the history behind piano: http://pianonet.com/all-about-pianos/history-of-the-piano/

Here is another link for more to know about NYSSMA:  http://pianonet.com/all-about-pianos/history-of-the-piano/http://pianonet.com/all-about-pianos/history-of-the-piano/

 

piano_2014_5072
A picture of a piano.

Mike Davis via Compfight

One thought on “My Passion~ Piano

  1. Hi Neha,
    I really liked how you described NYSSMA. It must of been really fun! I play the cello so I’m not sure how to play the piano. Now I might want to try it!

    -Nick S

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *