Personal Narrative bye Olivia

                                           Gammie’s Surprise

 

 

`Hurray hurray! I can’t believe that it’s my birthday! Hopefully I will get some good gifts!’

 

It was a bright sunny morning when my mom walked in my room with a tray full of breakfast. Pancakes, bacon, and eggs. “Mmm” I  said, really excited to eat. I ate and I ate until I couldn’t eat any more. This is a good birthday I thought to myself. I walked down the stairs excited to see all of my family, when I realized that the only person awake was my mom! Maybe this wasn’t going to be the best birthday.

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 6.45.06 PM Picture from pixabay

 

I waited and waited.It felt like hours and hours so many dreadful hou- wait…. “what was that?” I saw my dad walking down the stairs. My dad loves hugs so that’s exactly what he did. I pulled away as soon as I could because I’m not so into hugs. Plus I was eager to see what presents I had gotten. Before we could open gifts at our house, we got in the car to head to Rhinebeck. Every year (for the kid birthdays) we go to my grandparents’ house (on my mom’s side), and give gifts. My aunt, my uncle, and my cousins all sit around the table and whomever’s birthday it is puts on a crazy fabric hat with fake candles on it. After, we all sing happy birthday (in the craziest voices you could ever imagine), we open gifts and spend time with the family. After, me and my cousins Liam and Luke usually play soccer. We have such a fun time rolling on the ground trying to protect the ball, tackling each other, slipping and sliding, and other fun things like that.

 

 

Later in the day we started to head back home. I was happy to be with my two sisters Emma and Julia. I had gotten so many good gifts and had such a fun time with my family. But my birthday was not over; I still had to open the presents on my dad’s side! I was very excited to see my other grandmother’s gift. She always has awesome presents and I don’t get to see her very often, so it’s a special thing for her to give me something. But this year she gave me something even more special.

 

 

When I got in the house I was so excited to see what they had all gotten me! I was also excited to open their cards because I love writing them cards back. I opened my aunt Beth’s gift I and I was so happy to see that she got me a bag with horses on it! I was so happy because I love horses and have two of my own!  Now it was time for Gammie’s gift! (my grandma). I opened the card and it was a cartoon of a girl on a horse and it read something like “ Dear Olivia, I hope you have a wonderful birthday and hope all your birthday wishes come true.” I loved this card just as much as I loved aunt Beth’s! Now it was time for the gift. I opened the package slowly and carefully. I could not believe what I had gotten!

 

 

Gammie had gotten me a locket! But it wasn’t just a locket, it had my name on it! I jumped up and down with joy! I was so happy. I decided to keep it in my mom’s engagement box, which had been passed down through the generations. My great grandma, my grandma, and finally my mom.


Overall this had been a very good birthday and I’m super excited for my next one!    

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *