Myself – Shirley

Hi Everyone! My name is Shirley and I am a 6th grade humanities teacher in a small private school in upstate New York. I have been teaching for many years but have found my teaching style changing greatly over the past few years with the introduction of technology and web 2.0 tools. I love using all kinds of technology in my classroom and feel strongly about the empowering affect it has on students.

This year, our 6th grade humanities topic is  Global Medieval Studies and I look forward to facilitating lots of student discussions, planning and student teaching of many of our topics.  As my learning journey continues alongside my students, I realize more and more how important it is to give students a voice in their own learning. We will have many student led projects using a variety of web 2.0 tools and social media.

When I am not teaching, I love to spend lots of time with my grandchildren who range in age from 3weeks to 18years old. I really enjoy golfing in the summer and skiing in the winter with my husband. I have several other hobbies including reading (especially on my Kindle), knitting and gardening.

Blogging Challenge Week #1

One thought on “Myself – Shirley

  1. WOW you sound like a amazing teacher. One of my favourite hobbies is also reading it just calms me down when I’m not feeling perfect. Home you can come and look at our class blog
    @fantastic grade 5f

    Sincerely Deyana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *